Could Axar Patel be the next Delhi Capital’s captain?

A probability that doesn’t seem far-sighted. Commentator Sunil Gavaskar remarks on how Axar Patel’s captaincy could relieve former captain David Warner of the leadership load.

Ex- Australian Captain Aaron Finch too made an affirmative vote for the Vice-captain Axar Patel to be crowned as the next in command after David Warner and Rishabh Pant.


Captain in the making

With a strike rate of 129.6, Axar Patel leads the IPL league with 131 matches and 1373 runs taken. Popularly coined as the second leading expensive player of the Indian Premier League, Axar Patel showcased solid performances saving his team from their frail IPL 2023 opening by winning 5 back to-back IPL matches.

DC reigned as the underdog from the bottom 23 to the 5th position by scoring 130, whilst sweeping IPL champions Gujarat Titans and Kolkata Knight Riders off their grounds.

Axar knocked off KKR and Sunrisers Hyderabad with 2 wickets and 7 runs. His left arm spin figured 2-21 posing a threat to even ace SRH fielders Mayank Agarwal and Aiden Markram.

Finch acclaimed the all-rounder’s happy-go-lucky attitude that never really expects much from the team in terms of leadership while making exceptional contributions with his batting, bowling, and fielding tactics to the team.


Captaincy Race 

Gavaskar and Harbhajan Singh commented on how the DC captaincy is taking a toll on David Warner’s commendable batting grounds. Gavaskar was quick to compare the scenario to Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indian captaincy takeover and Ricky Pointing’s step down from the top tier that performed wonders for their team.

Gavaskar appreciated Axar’s good sporting rhythm to be his forte in leading the Indian team in the long run.


Squad Members

  • Batting – David Warner (captain), Priyam Garg, Yash Dhull, Rovman Powell, Rilee Rossouw, Prithvi Shaw, and Manish Pandey
  • All-rounders – Axar Patel, Aman Khan, Lalit Yadav, Aman Khan, and Mitchell Marsh
  • Bowlers – Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Ishant Sharma, Anrich Nortje, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Lungi Ngidi, Pravin Dubey, Mustafizur Rahman, and Vicky Ostwal
  • Wicket keepers – Sarfaraz Khan, Philip Salt, and Abishek Porel